The Army Environmental Policy Institute (AEPI) prepared this report under the direction of Mr. Lewis D. Walker, Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army for Environment, Safety and Occupational Health (DASA-ESOH).

This document is a companion document to a ìSummary Report to Congressî with the same title. It includes supporting information and a significant amount of technical detail not included in the summary report.

The Instituteís mission is to assist the Army Secretariat in developing proactive policies and strategies to address environmental issues that may have significant future impacts on the Army. The Institute wrote this report in response to Senate Appropriations Committee Report Number 102-408.

A team of experts, directed by Stephen P. Shelton, coordinated efforts to prepare this supporting technical document. Lamb Associates, Inc., of Albuquerque, N.M., provided support during this project. Principal authors and members of the technical team include:

The following people facilitated document production: Kristan Cockerill, Fellow, AEPI, Document Management; Sally H. Bayless and Kathleen Robinson, Editors, AEPI, Editing and Document Layout; Adele M. Hunter, Manager of Document Production, Concetta Cacciato, Graphic Artist, and Emma Banovich and Claudia J. Ortiz, Word Processors, Lamb Associates, Inc.Ý The following people facilitated final document production: Annemarie Gibson, Program Manager, Document Development, U.S. Army Center for Health Promotion and Preventive Medicine (USACHPPM); Cynthia Barben, Editor, USACHPPM; Gail Robinson, Editor, USACHPPM; and Jeanette England, Editor, USACHPPM.

LTC Hew Wolfe and COL Randall Morin, U.S. Army, provided staff support from Mr. Walkerís office. Dr. Edward W. Novak, Director, AEPI and Dr. Prakash Temkar, Fellow, AEPI, provided support, assistance and review. Recognition is also due to BG Gerald C. Brown, U.S. Army, Director, Environmental Programs; CPT Robert L. Bumgarner, U.S. Navy (USN), Director, Armed Forces Radiobiology Research Institute; Richard W. Fliszar, U.S. Army, Picatinny Arsenal; LTC J. Christopher Johnson, U.S. Army, Headquarters, U.S. Army Materiel Command; COL Peter H. Meyers, USA, Radiological Hygiene Consultant, Office of The Surgeon General; COL Robert N. Cherry, Jr., Director of Army Radiation Safety; COL James Wiles, Deputy Commander, USACHPPM and Commander, USAEHA; David P. Alberth, Health Physicist, Medical Health Physics Program, USACHPPM; Harris Edge, Program Manager, Industrial Health Physics Program, USACHPPM; MAJ James P. Martin, MC, Occupational Medicine Physician, Occupational and Environmental Medicine Program, USACHPPM; Gordon M. Lodde, LTC, USAR (Retired), Former Director of Radiation and Entomological Sciences, USAEHA; and Ronald Swatski, Program Manager, Radiochemistry Analysis Program, USACHPPM.

Within the Army, the following provided review, comments and suggestions: Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Operations and Plans, Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Logistics, Office of the Surgeon General, Office of the General Counsel, Office of the Chief of Public Affairs, Office of the Chief of Legislative Liaison, Office of the Director of Environmental Programs, Office of the Director of Army Safety, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Army for Research, Development and Acquisition, and the U.S. Army Center for Health Promotion and Preventive Medicine. Additionally, more than 200 Army personnel, involved in some way with DU, deserve thanks for their contributions to this report.

Beyond the Army, review, comments and suggestions were provided by the Office of the Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Environmental Security), the Armed Forces Radiobiology Research Institute, the Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Environment, Safety and Occupational Health), and the Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Installations and Logistics). This technical report and the summary report were also externally reviewed at three universities.

Original photos for Figures 3-4 through 3-39 were provided by TECOM and Figures 4-1 through 4-6 were provided D. Rokke, 1st Lt, USAR. The micrograph was provided by Dr. Larry Barton, Department of Biology, the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque N.M. The X-rays for Figure 6.1 were provided by AFRRI.

[back to title page]
[to Table of Contents]